Deathtrap

070115 Deathtrapby Ira Levin 
directed by Aaron Mark
Featuring: Gregg Edelman, Alison Fraser, Eric Hill, Tom Pecinka and Debra Jo Rupp


at The Fitzpatrick Main Stage, Stockbridge Campus
Previews: Wednesday, July 1 and Thursday, July 2
Press Opening/Opening Night: Friday, July 3 at 8pm
Talkback: Monday, July 6 after 7pm performance
Closing: Saturday, July 25 at 8pm
Tickets: Preview: $42
Tickets: $62
Sponsored by:  Blantyre, Country Curtains and The Red Lion Inn

BUY TICKETS

Performance Dates
Wednesday, July 1 at 7pm (Preview)
Thursday, July 2 at 7pm (Preview)
Friday, July 3 at 8pm (Opening)
Saturday, July 4 at 2pm
Monday, July 6 at 7pm (Talkback)
Tuesday, July 7 at 7pm
Wednesday, July 8 at 7pm
Thursday, July 9 at 7pm
Friday, July 10 at 8pm
Saturday, July 11 at 2pm
Monday, July 13 at 7pm
Tuesday, July 14 at 7pm
Wednesday, July 15 at 7pm
Thursday, July 16 at 2pm and 7pm
Friday, July 17 at 8pm
Saturday, July 18 at 2pm and 8pm
Monday, July 20 at 7pm
Tuesday, July 21 at 7pm
Wednesday, July 22 at 7pm
Thursday, July 23 at 2pm and 7pm
Friday, July 24 at 8pm
Saturday, July 25 at 2pm and 8pm (Closing Night)

Recognized as the longest-running comedy thriller on Broadway, Deathtrap is a play within a play. Aaron Mark, who brilliantly directed The Mystery of Irma Vep last year, directs Ira Levin’s treasured Tony Award-nominated play. This witty thriller tells the tale of defeated playwright, Sidney Bruhl, who would do almost anything to write a hit Broadway play. Former student, Clifford Anderson, tells Sidney that he’s written a suspense play with a seamless plot that’s sure to be Broadway-bound.  When Sidney lures Clifford into his colonial style home, adorned with eclectic antique weaponry, both men’s motives become unclear. Exhilarateing thrills transpire as zany characters weave a web of mystery in two acts.

Deathtrap ran for four years on Broadway after opening in 1978, and it's remained ubiquitous in theaters around the world,” says Aaron Mark. “It's the play theatregoers think we know but shocks us every time. What struck me reading it again recently, though, is how eerily relevant it is prophetic, even—in our increasingly "success"—obsessed culture. Ira Levin (Rosemary's Baby, The Stepford Wives) not only created the mother of all contemporary meta-thrillers when he created Deathtrap, he created a potent cautionary tale about greed. As one with "thrilleritis" (Levin's term, not mine), myself, I couldn't be more thrilled that The Fitzpatrick Main Stage is the frighteningly perfect setting for this ingenious puzzle of a ‘who'll-do-it.’"